I found the procedure in which to do this a bit counter intuitive.  Or at least not very memorable.  I thought therefore I’d document the procedure.

 

  1. Launch Project Professional and connect to your Project Server environment
  2. Open a project from Project Server
  3. Navigate File –> Manage Accounts –> Work Offline

image

 

  1. Navigate File –> Close.   When prompted to check in your project, keep it checked out
  2. Exit Project Professional by navigating File –> Exit
  3. Launch Project Professional
  4. Connect to your server environment, however, select the option to work offline.

image

  1. Now navigate File –> Open, and select the checked out project.  It will show in the list with a Cache Status of Checked Out.  You may continue to work with the project and make additional changes while it is checked out.

 

Check the Project Back in

When you want to reconnect the project back to the server environment and synchronize your changes, perform the following:

  1. Navigate File –> Close
    1. Select the radio button to Save your changes
    2. Select the radio button to Keep project checked out to you
    3. Click OK

image

  1. Exit Project Professional by navigating File –> Exit
  2. Now relaunch Project Professional and connect to your server environment as you normally would.
  3. Navigate File –> Open, and open your project.  The project should show in the list with a Cache Status of Checked Out. 
  4. Now Save and Publish your project to synchronize your offline changes with the server

DONE